family and a bed and breakfast.

February 15, 2010

I find myself thinking about family today. I am thinking about how a family and a b&b might go together?

I want to say it’s about choice.

I choose to be a part of a family. And I choose to what extent I am involved. It’s on my end to participate. Being the youngest sibling, I receive many things from my family, but it’s only when I choose to reciprocate that I start to realize what being a family entails.

I choose to own a b&b (in the future). I choose to intertwine my life and my career. As an inn keeper people will come and go quite frequently. Some will return. Most will not. Some will want to engage. Most will not. But regardless, part of owning a b&b for me is to foster an environment where family is felt and known. I choose to provide opportunities for my guests to reciprocate. And guests can choose to be a part of the family. Most will not.

Maybe it’s because the artist down the street will house her masterpiece in one of my guest rooms. Maybe it’s because the barn I own will be studios for local geniuses working out their latest invention. Maybe it will be about neighborhood dinners or the communal breakfasts. Or maybe it’s just the emotion the warm colors on the wall will evoke.

A family experience can happen anywhere. And while it may last a holiday, a weekend, a lifetime, it’s about reciprocating.

The choice is yours.

Leave a Reply

