linear is bad.

April 12, 2010

How many people succeed in getting from point A to point B in a straight path?

Do you think Christian Doppler did when he was experimenting with the Doppler effect?

Thomas Carlyle writes, “Narrative is linear, but action has breadth and depth as well as height and is solid.” (I like that.)

This is certainly not linear. But it sure is pretty.
null(Photo by Blair Morad.)

Maybe the question should be why would we want to succeed in a linear fashion?

I keep telling myself one day I will own a bed and breakfast. And one day I will. I know; I know. We tell ourselves over and over and over and over that it’s about the journey, not the destination.

But it is, isn’t it? I don’t necessarily like being bounced around from point to point at the moment, but I am grateful for interruptions and respites and failures and experiments and mini successes.

After all, it’s never like one can ever really say, “I’ve arrived!”
Right? And when we do “arrive”, it never feels like we thought it would anyway. Why? Because I think life is supposed to happen daily. Not in milestones.

Milestones are easy because they help us see a straight path.
null

Which makes life easier for us, I suppose. Maybe it’s more that they help us remember the goal. But the story really comes together when you connect all the dots.

6 Responses to “linear is bad.”

  1. Manejah Says:

    Karen, I couldn’t agree with you more. I’ve never been one to follow a pre-determined path (as you know)but there has always been a place I ultimately wanted to get to. I think it’s important to explore every road on the path to your dream. It will better prepare you to recognize and handle the dream when it “arrives”. MMT

  2. Blair Says:

    Nice post.
    It reminds me of that movie “UP”. The couple spend their days saving up for a house in paradise falls. When the wife passes away, the Husband decides now is the time to take that trip. When he gets there he realizes that saving all that money was for more than just getting somewhere. It was about their time together, about enjoying what they had.
    Dreams are important to have and aspire to, but never forget to enjoy yourself along the way!

  3. Karen Says:

    I love the feedback. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  4. Ken Cigala Says:

    The Road Not Taken

    Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

    Robert Frost.
    Mountain Interval
    1916

  5. Joe Cigala Says:

    This post made me think, i think. Life is full of twist & turns but hopefully we can follow our path to our goal or goals in life. Good job, Karen.

  6. sharyn gaffney Says:

    Well, it took me a while to get back to you and as promised this morning I opened your blog. Interesting thoughts! Firstly . . . the main milestone is just ‘being’. The next is being blessed with intelligence,fantasy,empathy,organization skills,farsightedness and a naturally smiling face. Then of course – experience gleaned from the bottom up is a must in my book. The Hospitality Trade is easily ‘learned’ if you’ve got some or all of these blessings ’cause . . . it will just comes naturally for those who aim to please. My advice is get as much work in the field as you can – doing all jobs from menial to managing, accounting,front desk etal. Meanwhile accumulating contacts and friends in the business,making sure everyone knows your name, your smile and your professional reputation. Then, get the money ( that’s another subject ) necessary to begin the realization of your dream! Ciao SharP


Leave a Reply

