no room for hospitality.

April 26, 2010

I am my own airplane.
I go wherever I want; whenever and for whatever.

It’s my choice. Do I have restrictions?
I suppose.
But they are of my doing:
money, time, laziness, work, responsibilities.

Why is it different for others?

Why is different for a Kenyan who is able to leave his country only if he dances just so. And why is a refugee’s best hope asylum?

Airplanes come and go all day long.
Are they only for the civilized?
We can come and have a look,
but others are caged.

Whatever happened to the idea of globalization?
Is true globalization a world accepting both the goods and the people?

We import the goods,
but we don’t welcome the farmers to our table,
or the workers to our storefronts.
We don’t thank them for making our dreams possible.
And we hardly do much to inspire theirs.

Who’s responsibility is it anyway?

After all, I am my own airplane.
I go wherever I want; whenever and for whatever.

One Response to “no room for hospitality.”

  1. Amy Says:

    Karen,
    You are an amazing writing. I really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for writing it. Love you!!!


Leave a Reply

