continuing to define hospitality.

June 17, 2010

I learned something the other day.  Hospitality is a lot bigger than I think it is.  In all honesty, I’m not sure how to define it in the first place.  I tried in an earlier post.

I know a thing or two about it:  how it makes me feel, and how I think it’s supposed to make others feel.  But a definition seems limiting, as does my perception.

What’s my point?  Hospitality comes in all different shapes and sizes.  And I like it that way.

Last week I met a man who talked passionately about many different things.  He has a lot of projects.  We met with a mutual friend for breakfast at 7 a.m. on a Friday morning.  Needless to say, I am not easily stimulated at 7 a.m. in the morning.

However, I left breakfast feeling invigorated and fresh.  Having listened to this man’s stories, I was overpowered with an urge to start several myself.  Or at least to become a part of one of his.  I think this feeling, the feeling of drawing someone in and allowing him to experience the story as if he is a part of it, is hospitality.  It’s seizing an opportunity to share life in a way that invites people to join you.

So, what’s the project?  CHEESE.  An invitation to get to know the Robie’s, their dairy farm, and their way of life.   To help them figure out how to make the only way life they know sustainable.

Where to start?  With you!  Buy their cheese.  (Available in Boston at South End Formaggio.)

One Response to “continuing to define hospitality.”


  1. Robie Farm Smoked Toma!!!!! I’m envious you got to meet them. That is one fine cheese!


Leave a Reply

